Angers Sporting Club de l’Ouest, commonly referred to as Angers SCO or simply Angers, is a professional football club that is based in Angers in Pays de la Loire in North-Western France.

Known as Juliomagus under the Romans the city itself was the cradle of the Plantagenet dynasty. The city’s most symbolic monument – a massive moated chateau with 17 towers – was built in 1230 and it houses the late 14th century Tapestry of the Apocalypse.

Created under the drive and impetus of the Fortun brothers (in the same year that the FFF was founded) the brothers were directors of the Credit de l’Ouest bank. The club initially took the name of Sporting club Credit de l’Ouest bank then became Sporting club de l’Ouest before becoming the Angers SCO we commonly know them as today.

The first official match of the club was played during October 1919 against the SNUC (Nantes) the match played as part of the then Anjou Basse-Loire championship.

During the team’s history, they have bounced between the top two tiers on multiple occasions. However, they have recently spent time in the third tier with the 2006–07 season being the most recent.

Today, the club play at the Stade Raymond Kopa located some 30 minutes from the historic centre of the city. Currently undergoing a period of renovation it is the traditional home ground of the club and can host up to 18,000 fans.

The name of the stadium was officially changed from Stade Jean-Bouin to Stade Raymond Kopa on 27 March 2017.

This decision was made to honour French football legend Raymond Kopa who made his professional debut with the club and had died in Angers during 2017.

Angers SCO – Historic Record

28 Seasons in Ligue 1

39 Seasons in Ligue 2

Division 2 French Champions 1969 and 1976

Coupe de France Runner Up 2017